Minnesota business leaders honor Banyan Community with Minnesota’s Future Award

Minneapolis – The Minnesota Business Partnership (MBP) today announced that Banyan Community in Minneapolis will receive the 2018 Minnesota’s Future Award. Since 2006, the Minnesota’s Future Award has recognized high-performing, diverse schools or education programs for their success in helping all students succeed.

Banyan will be honored tonight before more than 1,000 business, civic, and political leaders at the Minnesota Business Partnership’s Annual Dinner at the Minneapolis Convention Center. Banyan co-founder and executive director Joani Essenburg will deliver brief remarks at the event.

Founded in 1998, Banyan Community is a non-profit community development organization rooted in the Phillips neighborhood. Its goal is to transform lives by developing youth, strengthening families, and creating community. As a part of the Phillips neighborhood, they help youth (pre-k through college) and families recognize and develop their own assets to achieve academic and personal success. Banyan’s success speaks for itself: Remarkably, 100% of Banyan students graduate from high school and are accepted into college, and Banyan scholars outperform the citywide average for college graduation.

“Minnesota business leaders understand that for our state to continue to thrive, we need all students to succeed,” said Charlie Weaver, Executive Director of the Minnesota Business Partnership. “Banyan’s innovative, community-oriented approach is helping students succeed in school and thrive in life.”

“We are grateful to the Minnesota Business Partnership for this award. Our community depends on strong businesses and strong businesses are depending on us to build a prepared and diverse workforce. It is critical that together we are innovative in closing the opportunity gap with urban families,” said Joani Essenburg, co-founder and executive director of Banyan Community.

Funding sponsors for the award: Cargill, Deloitte, IWCO Direct, KPMG LLP, M.A. Mortenson, New Horizon Academy, Ryan Companies US, Inc., Thomson Reuters, and Thrivent Financial.